Home / MMA News / World MMA Awards Summary: Meet The Winners To Every Category

World MMA Awards Summary: Meet The Winners To Every Category

The IX Annual Fighters Only World MMA Awards took place on Thursday at The Venetian Theater in Las Vegas, Nevada. The evening celebrated the best of MMA rings and cages in 2016. The awards recognize 22 categories and in case you missed it, we give you a full summary of all the nominees and winners.

As we know, 2016 was the year in which Conor McGregor made history by becoming the first fighter to hold two belts simultaneously. At the MMA Awards he joined Jon Jones as the only two fighters to win the Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis award for Fighter of the Year in consecutive years.

Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis Fighter of the Year
Winner: Conor McGregor
Nominated: Michael Bisping, Donald Cerrone, Cody Garbrandt, Stipe Miocic


Here’s a full breakdown of all the winners, as voted for by the fans.

Female Fighter of the Year
Winner: Amanda Nunes
Nominated: Cris Cyborg, Angela Hill, Joanna Jedrzejczyk, Angela Lee

Amanda Nunes impressed the world of MMA at UFC 200 when she beat Miesha Tate without mercy to take the bantamweight belt, she would then shock the world at UFC 207 by burying the myth of Ronda Rousey in her comeback fight.

(On the next page Breakthrough and International Fighters of the Year)

About Rob Davis